Find Ohio auto insurance that suits your lifestyle and budget while providing coverage that meets or exceeds the state’s minimum standards. Make sure you have car insurance coverage that offers low rates and excellent 24/7 customer care no matter where you’re traveling in Ohio’s many huge cities and tiny communities. We also have several ideal auto insurance discounts that might help you save even more money on your coverage. If you’re new to Ohio or want to switch insurance carriers, get an auto insurance quote with NewAutoinsurance.
Ohio’s Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
The state of Ohio requires the following liability auto insurance coverage as a minimum to legally operate a motor vehicle:
- Liability coverage for bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
While these are the bare minimums that Ohio mandates, everyone’s insurance needs are different. Our certified Ohio agents can assist you in determining the appropriate coverages for your needs.
How to Save Money on Car Insurance in Ohio
Everyone wants to save money on auto insurance, and there are various rate reductions and discounts available in Ohio that could help you save money. We’ve compiled a list of them for you, complete with all of the applicable state criteria.
Discounts on Ohio Auto insurance policies for new drivers
We enjoy helping you save money. As a result, Ohio residents who have many policies in their portfolio (one of which is auto coverage) may qualify for a discount on their Ohio auto insurance price.
- Mobile homes
- Automobiles and motorcycles
- An umbrella
Good Driver Discount in Ohio
Good drivers deserve a discount, and in Ohio, those who satisfy specific requirements can get a reduction on their auto insurance. A Good Driver in Ohio is defined as someone who is at least 21 years old and:
- Have verifiable license experience for at least five years
- During the 5-year Experience Period, you have not been convicted of a DUI, speeding, or any other significant or minor offense.
- Have not caused an accident during the 5–year Experience Period.
Discounts for Members
Are you a member of any educational, alumni, professional, or other groups? Make sure to tell us what you’re a part of when you get a quote. You may qualify for a special discount on your auto insurance if it’s one of the 800+ organizations with which we collaborate. This implies that former Cincinnati Bearcats, Xavier Musketeers, Ohio Rockets, and others could save even more money.
Ohio Discount for Students
Young single drivers in Ohio between the ages of 16 and 24 are eligible for a Good Student Discount if they are enrolled full-time in an academic home-study program, high school, college, or university and meet the following criteria:
- Have a grade point average of at least B or be in the top 20% of the class (3.0 GPA)
- If applicable, keep a spot on the Dean’s List or Honor Roll.
- Have received a score in the top 20% on one of the following national standardized tests within the last 12 months: PSAT, PACT, SAT–1, or ACT are some of the tests available.
What Parents Should Know About Ohio’s Teen Driving Laws
If you’re a parent of an adolescent approaching driving age, you and your teen should be aware of the following:
- An adolescent can apply for a learner’s permit six months after turning 15 years old.
- Teen permit holders under the age of 16 must practice with a parent or guardian, whereas teen permit holders above 16 may practice with any licensed driver over 21.
- A young driver under 18 must complete a driver training course that includes classroom instruction, day driving, and night driving experience before seeking a license.
- A licensed individual under the age of 18 may only transport one passenger and may not drive between 12 a.m. and 6 a.m.
When someone reaches the age of 18, the limitations are relaxed.
Information on Ohio Registration
Have you recently relocated to Ohio? Convert your state title to a title that can be used in Ohio.
- Get an “out-of-state inspection certificate” from any Deputy Registrar’s office first if you have the title.
- Take the out-of-state title and the inspection to any county title office and apply for the Ohio title.
- If the title is in two names, you’ll need two signatures or a power of attorney to represent the one who can’t sign.
Incase If a lienholder owns the title:
- If your lienholder has the title, you must fill out a transfer request and mail it to them.
Incase If the vehicle is leased:
- Contact your leasing provider to learn about their policies.
- Complete an out-of-state inspection.